Be a CS major they said… it will make you antisocial they said

I found this while surfing the web earlier, it’s kind of funny because most CS majors I know are single

Hi, I’m Andrew Gleason, a Computer Science major here at Trinity University.  I got into this class after being on the waitlist.  I decided to take this class because I’m interested in pursuing a career as a engineer in Digital Advertisement or App Development and obviously this class fits very well with those things.  Something that not a lot of people know about me is just that I want to travel the world and find jobs in CS all over the place.  I want to work in Hong Kong, Dubai, Sao Paulo, Singapore, Europe, and just really anywhere until I eventually have to settle down.  I want to find a company that will allow me to do that, and thankfully I’m trying to become a software engineer which makes my hopes very possible.

Obviously, since I’m a Computer Science major I have some experience with computer programming.  I’ve have experience with a few different languages including C, C++, Java, Flash, C#, Objective C, Scheme, Haskell, and a few others I can’t recall currently.  This summer I started teaching myself Objective C in Xcode, which is the environment that most iPhone and iPad apps are coded in.  My personal side project right now is trying to make a game for iPhone in Objective C.  I hope to have a beta released in December, but we’ll see what happens.  My most frustrating experience with coding was probably when I made a sudoku solver in Scheme (a functional language) and had a lot of problems trying to do it using list of lists.  I finally got some advice and changed it from taking list of lists to a vector of vectors.  Fixing problems that have bothered you for hours is one of the greatest feelings.

I didn’t start programming until I got to college, my high school didn’t have any CS classes.  As a CS major, I have to say that 90% of CS stereotypes are totally and completely true.  I think it’s funny that one of the stereotypes about CS majors is that they aren’t very social… and then Trinity goes and puts the CS building in the corner of campus away from everybody.  A lot of good friends of mine are CS majors, but a lot of my good friends aren’t.  I try to socialize outside of Computer Science and a lot of my friends are all different types of majors.

APG

This entry was posted in Blog Assignment #1. Introductory musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Be a CS major they said… it will make you antisocial they said

  1. cs go forum says:

    This is really fascinating, You are an overly skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and stay up for looking for more of your excellent post. Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks

Leave a comment